Art Therapy – Memories (in progress cont.)

This project is moving along and slowly approaching the end (I think). The multitude of torn and painted pieces of paper that represent my memories are now being placed in new patterns. During my therapy I have learned that one can never escape the past and the memories therein. But what we can do, is acknowledge our memories and create new thought patterns that keep our memories from being destructive.  This project has been all about the process. This week I realized that the final products will  have little meaning for me  without the context of the entire process. I have no interest in the end result, all of the value for me comes in the long, slow process. The internal conversations, reflections, and cleansing can never be seen in the final product.

This project is moving along and slowly approaching the end (I think). The multitude of torn and painted pieces of paper that represent my memories are now being placed in new patterns. During my therapy I have learned that one can never escape the past and the memories therein. But what we can do, is acknowledge our memories and create new thought patterns that keep our memories from being destructive.
This project has been all about the process. This week I realized that the final products will have little meaning for me without the context of the entire process. I have no interest in the end result, all of the value for me comes in the long, slow process. The internal conversations, reflections, and cleansing can never be seen in the final product.

Click here to see/read about the beginning of this project: New Life. New Hope

4 thoughts on “Art Therapy – Memories (in progress cont.)

Leave a Reply

