Street Art – Mainz 19Jun 2016

Lately I have been wrestling with feelings of sadness and anger. Unfortunately, I have had little experience with expressing either of the two. For my entire life, I have been taught to suppress these feelings at all costs. To let them come up is both uncomfortable and scary (even if it is healthy and good for me).

One afternoon I was so distressed and torn that I made these quick cards. I didn’t even take the time to add the extra effects that make the text glow in low light. But these are themes I have been struggling with. Who am I? What do I do? Who is on my side? How do I find my place (what do I do when I get there?)?

In the next 5 years I would like to return to teaching. But this time at a small college or university. Not an education behemoth like my last position. I’d like classes of 15-20 students instead of 50-60. I think this can be done. I just need to figure out how to build the road from here to there….and who will be allowed to come with me.

3 thoughts on “Street Art – Mainz 19Jun 2016

    • Actually I started with 50-60. I learned how to do it, but it took a lot of emotional energy. With that experience, I can say with confidence that I’d prefer a smaller class. Many professors have no desire to connect with the students, but doing so is important to me. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • Good thing! It’s good to take care if yourself, people can drain you from a LOT of energy so you want to go hone. That shows you care for the students. It’s good to have the skill so you know what you’ll want to do πŸ™‚ Like now you wAnt a smaller one

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

